Hei (5th Grade)

SJS & Youth Programming Calendar

Please click here to access the SJS & Youth Programming Calendar 2021-2022 (5782)

Sunday Learning Schedule

Lead Teacher: Mr. Dennis Gelbart dgelbart@amyisrael.org

Hebrew Teachers: Mr. Dennis Gelbart dgelbart@amyisrael.org  Morah Wendy Malkin wmalkin@amyisrael.org  Morah Melissa Shabat mshabat@amyisrael.org

9:15 – 9:40 am Social Emotional Learning (SEL) within a Jewish context in Room 8
9:45 – 10:25 am Ivrit (Hebrew) in Rooms 7 & 8
10:30 – 11:30 am Limudei Yahadut (Jewish Studies) & Project Based Learning in Room 8
11:35 am- 12:05 pm Chugim (Elective Activities): More information will be shared the Week of September 19
12:10 – 12:15 pm Line-up in Sanctuary for SJS Dismissal

Wednesday Learning Schedule

Lead Teacher: Hazzan Lawrence Szenes-Strauss (Mr. S.) lszenesstrauss@amyisrael.org

Hebrew Teachers: Hazzan Lawrence Szenes-Strauss (Mr. S.) lszenesstrauss@amyisrael.org Morah Wendy Malkin wmalkin@amyisrael.org Mr. Marc Sender msender@amyisrael.org Morah Melissa Shabat mshabat@amyisrael.org

4:15 – 4:25 pm Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Advisory within a Jewish context in Room 6
4:30 – 5:00 pm Tefillah led by Mr. Sherman in Outside Courtyard or Sanctuary
5:05 – 5:40 pm Ivrit (Hebrew) in Rooms 6, 7 & 9
5:40 – 6:05 pm Limudei Yahadut (Jewish Studies) & Project Based Learning in Room 6
6:10 – 6:15 pm Line-up in Sanctuary for SJS Dismissal

Please note: Class Summaries will appear here beginning the Week of September 26

Materials and Curricular Resources:

Am Yisrael Congregation’s Website: https://www.amyisrael.org

Jewish Interactive: https://jitap.net

Etgar Yesodi: https://www.jewisheducators.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/etgar-yesodi-overview-revised-2020.pdf

Hebrew In Harmony: https://www.behrmanhouse.com/hih

A Kid’s Mensch Handbook: Step-by-Step to a Lifetime of Jewish Values: https://www.amazon.com/Kids-Mensch-Handbook-Lifetime-Jewish/dp/0874417007

Values and Ethics: Torah Topics for Today: https://store.behrmanhouse.com/index.php/values-and-ethics-torah-topics-for-today.html

JPS The B’nai Mitzvah Torah Commentary: https://jps.org/books/jps-bnai-mitzvah-torah-commentary/

B’nai Mitzvah Process and Preparation at Am Yisrael: https://www.amyisrael.org/bnaimitzvahprocessandpreparation

Siddur Lev Shalem: https://www.rabbinicalassembly.org/resources-ideas/lev-shalem-series/siddur-lev-shalem

Tefillah Texts and Audios for Am Yisrael: https://www.amyisrael.org/practicing-tefillah.html

Sefaria: A Living Library of Jewish Texts: https://www.sefaria.org

MyJewishLearning: https://www.myjewishlearning.com

JTeach.org: https://jteach.org

Review Common Prefixes: https://images.shulcloud.com/1177/uploads/SJS-PDFs/Common-Hebrew-Prefixes.pdf

Review Common Hebrew words found in the Siddur, Tier I: https://images.shulcloud.com/1177/uploads/SJS-PDFs/Common-Hebrew-Vocabulary-Tier-I.pdf

Learn Common Hebrew words found in the Siddur, Tier II: https://images.shulcloud.com/1177/uploads/SJS-PDFs/Common-Hebrew-Vocabulary-Tier-II.pdf

Center for Israel Education: https://israeled.org

Consultation from Matan: The National Voice in Jewish Special Education: https://matankids.org

Teacher Bios

Please click here to read Am Yisrael SJS Teacher Bios

Updated 9-23-2021, 18 Tishrei 5782