Sign In Forgot Password

SJS Calendar

The calendar for the entire 2019-2020 Am Yisrael School of Jewish Studies (SJS), Youth Groups Calendar, Special Programs, Parent Involvement, Holidays/Commemorations and/or Days Off can be found directly below. 

  • If you would like to receive a link to be able to import this information into your electronic calendars, please send us an email by clicking here.  
  • If you would like to be able to access a printable version of this calendar as a 4-page PDF, please click here.
  • Please note: Every effort is made to keep these dates, however, they are subject to change should a conflict arise. Events originally published on July 2, 2019.  Items added after July 2, 2019 have been added in purple, bolded font.  

Revised 8-9-19

August-September 2019   אב תשע״ט - אלול תשע״ט - תשרי תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Fri

Aug 16

PJ Shabbat and Pizza Infant through 3rd Grade & families 5:00 p.m. 6:00 p.m.
Wed Aug 28 Opening Teacher Meeting and Dinner N/A 6:00 p.m. 8:30 p.m.
Wed Sep 4

First Day of Wednesday Classes for SJS

3-7 4:15 p.m. 6:15 p.m.
Sun Sep 8 Special All-SJS Fun Day at Camp Ramah Day Camp in Wheeling (Exact times will be announced to take into consideration the commute time) All TBD TBD
Sun Sep 8

CHUSY Regional Kick-off program

9-12 TBD TBD
Sun Sep 15

First Day of Regular Sunday Classes for SJS

All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Fri Sep 20- Sun Sep 22 CHUSY Regional Leadership Training Institute (LTI) 9-12 TBD TBD
Sun Sep 22

Maot Chitim Rosh Hashanah Delivery to our assigned building further details to follow

N/A TBD TBD
Sun Sep 29 NO SJS Classes  -- Erev Rosh Hashanah All N/A N/A
Sun evening Sep 29, Mon Sep 30 & Mon Oct 1

Rosh Hashanah celebrated off-site

     


 

October 2019  תשרי תש״פ - חשון תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Wed Oct 2

Regular SJS Resumes 3-7 4:15 p.m. 6:15 p.m.
Tue evening Oct 8 Kol Nidre celebrated off-site      
Wed Oct 9

No SJS Classes - Yom Kippur celebrated off-site

     
Sun Oct 13 Dalet (4th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 4 & Families 10:45 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Sun evening Oct 13

Erev Sukkot Services

  TBD  
Wed Oct 16

CHUSY Regional Sushi in the Sukkah

9-12 TBD  
Sun evening Oct 20 Simchat Torah Dancing as part of Services in lieu of regular SJS (Includes Youth Torah Readings) All 6:00 p.m.  

 

 

November 2019  חשון תש״פ  -  כסלו תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Fri Nov 1-

Sun Nov 3

Family Retreat   TBD  
Fri Nov 8- Sun Nov 10 Regional ChusyFest 9-12 TBD  
Fri Nov 8

PJ Shabbat and Pizza

Infant-3rd Grade & Families 5:00 p.m. 6:00 p.m.
Sun Nov 10 Zayin (7th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 7 & Families 10:45 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Sat Nov 16

Shabbat Family Programming (SFP) (Includes Youth Torah Readings & Kiddush Lunch)

All 9:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
Sun Nov 17

Alef/Bet (1st/2nd) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin

1-2 & Families 10:45 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Sun Nov 17 Zayin (7th) & Prozdor (8th) to the Ark (carpools leave from synagogue) 7-8 9:45 a.m. 11:30 a.m.
Fri Nov 22

CHUSY Regional Family Shabbat

9-12 TBD  
Wed Nov 27 No SJS Classes -- Thanksgiving Break 3-7 4:15 p.m. 6:15 p.m.

 

December 2019  כסלו תש״פ - טבת תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Sun

Dec 1

No SJS Classes -- Thanksgiving Break All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Tue Dec 3 CHUSY Regional Combined Giving Tuesday Event 9-12 TBD  
Wed Dec 4

SJS Resumes

3-7 4:15 p.m. 6:15 p.m.
Fri Dec 6- Sun Dec 8 Kadima Konvention 6-8 TBD  
Sun Dec 8

Chugim (Electives) Open House

3-7 11:30 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Sun Dec 8

Dalet (4th) and Hei (5th) Lieberman Program

4-5 10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.
Sat Dec 14 Shabbat Family Programming (SFP) (Includes Youth Torah Readings & Kiddush Lunch) All 9:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
Sun Dec 15

Last Day of Sunday SJS classes before Winter Break

All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Wed Dec 18 Last Day of Wednesday SJS classes before Winter Break All N/A N/A
Sun Dec 22 - Thu Dec 26

International USY (9th-12th) Convention in Ontario, Canada

9-12    

 

January 2020  טבת תש״פ - שבט תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Sun

Jan 5

SJS Sunday Classes Resume All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Wed Jan 8 SJS Wednesday Classes Resume 3-7 4:15 p.m. 6:15 p.m.
Fri Jan 10

Vav (6th) and Zayin (7th) help lead services

6-7 & families 6:00 p.m. 7:00 p.m.
Sun Jan 12 Hei (5th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 5 & families 10:45 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Sat Jan 18

Gan (3.5-6yr) Havdalah Potluck - Rabbi Newman Kamin & Dan Kamin's home

Gan (3.5-6 yr) & families 6:00 p.m. 7:15 p.m.
Sun Jan 19

Vav (6th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin

6 & families 10:45 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Wed Jan 22 CHUSY (8th-12th) Regional Lounge Night 8-12 TBD  
Sat Jan 25

Shabbat Family Programming (SFP) (Includes Youth Torah Readings & Kiddush Lunch)

All 9:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m.

 

February 2020 שבט תש״פ - אדר תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Sat Feb 1

AlefBet (1st/2nd) Havdalah in Sanctuary 1-2 & families 5:30 p.m. 6:15 p.m.
Sun Feb 2 Gimel (3rd) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 3 & families 10:45 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Feb 7-8 or Feb 8-9

CHUSY Regional Tikun Olam (8th-12th) Event

8-12 TBD  
Sat Feb 8 All SJS Family Havdalah at the home of the Feigs All 5:45 p.m. 7:45 p.m.
Sun Feb 9

Prozdor (8th) Brunch & Learn with Rabbi Newman Kamin  NOTE: This program is for 8th Grade students with our Rabbi

8 10:45 a.m. 11:30 a.m.
Wed Feb 12

Parent Teacher Conferences -- No SJS Classes -- Details to follow

1-7 3:45 p.m. 7:35 p.m.
Sun Feb 16 No SJS Classes -- President's Weekend All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Sat Feb 22

Shabbat Family Programming (SFP) (Includes Youth Torah Readings & Kiddush Lunch)

All 9:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
Sat Feb 22 CHUSY Regional Kadima (6th-7th) Night 6-7 TBD  
Sun Feb 23

Zayin (7th) B'nai Mitzvah Projects Presentations

All 9:50 a.m. 10:30 a.m.
Fri Feb 28 PJ Shabbat and Pizza Infant through 3rd Grade 5:00 p.m. 6:00 p.m.

 

March 2020   אדר תש״פ - ניסן תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Sun Mar 8

Purim Carnival begins after Sunday Morning Minyan/9:50 am : Regular SJS begins at 9:15 am All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Mon evening Mar 9 Purim Megillah Reading   TBD  
Sun Mar 15

JUF Brunch : Regular SJS begins at 9:15 a.m.

  TBD  
Wed Mar  18 CHUSY (8th-12th) Regional Lounge Night @ WSUSY 8-12 TBD  
Sun Mar 22

No SJS -- Spring Break

All N/A  
Wed Mar 25

No SJS -- Spring Break

3-7 N/A  
Sun Mar 29 No SJS -- Spring Break All N/A  
Sun Mar 29 Maot Chitim Pesach Delivery to our assigned building   9:45 a.m. 11:15 p.m.

 

April 2020  ניסן תש״פ - אייר תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Fri Apr 3

Dalet (4th) & Hei (5th) help lead services 4-5 & families 6:00 p.m. 7:00 p.m.
Fri Apr 3 - Sun Apr 5 CHUSY (8th-12th) Regional Kinnus 8-12 TBD  
Wed Apr 8

No SJS Classes -- 1st Pesach Seder

3-7 N/A  
Sat Apr 11 Intergenerational Torah Reading (Includes Kiddush Lunch)   9:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
Sun Apr 12

SJS Classes in session during Chol HaMoed (Intermediate Days) of Pesach

All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Wed Apr 15

No SJS Classes on 7th Day of Pesach

3-7 N/A  
Wed Apr 15 CHUSY (8th-12th) Regional Mimouna 8-12 TBD  
Sun Apr 19 SJS Sunday Classes Resume All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Sun Apr 19 Rabbi Newman Kamin reads story to Torah Tots with a Twist (Infant- 3.5 yr) Infant - 3.5 year & families 9:50 a.m. 10:10 a.m.
Sun Apr 19  Tichon (9th --12th) Brunch & Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin NOTE: This program is for High School students with our Rabbi 9-12 10:45 a.m. 11:30 a.m.
Wed Apr 22 Yom HaShoah Commemoration - as part of Wed SJS Classes 3-7 4:15 p.m. 6:15 p.m.
Sat Apr 25 Shabbat Family Programming (SFP) (Includes Youth Torah Readings & Kiddush Lunch) All 9:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
Sun Apr 26 Yom Hashoah Commemoration for 6th-12th grades. Parents of all SJS students are encouraged to attend. 6-12 & families 10:30 a.m. 11:30 a.m.

 

May 2020  אייר תש״פ - סיון תש״פ

Date Event Grade/s Start Time End Time

Fri May 1

Gimel (3rd) helps lead services and receives Siddur Lev Shalem 3 & families 6:00 p.m. 7:00 p.m.
Sun May 3 Yom HaZikaron and Yom Ha'atzmaut Class Commemorations and Celebrations during SJS All    
Fri May 8

Gan (3.5-6yr) & Alef/Bet (1st/2nd) help lead services

3.5 yr through Grade 2 & families 6:00 p.m. 7:00 p.m.
Mon May 11 CHUSY (8th-12th) Regional End of Year Lag B'Omer Bonfire 8-12 TBD  
Wed May 13

Last Wednesday Classes for SJS

3-7 4:15 p.m. 6:15 p.m.
Fri May 15

Honoring High School SJS Madrichim Completing 12th Grade

12 & families 6:00 p.m. 7:00 p.m.
Sun May 17 Last Sunday Classes for SJS : Regular Hours: Includes Chugim Open House 11:30 am - 12:15 pm All 9:15 a.m. 12:15 p.m.
Fri May 22 PJ Shabbat and Pizza Infant through 3rd Grade 5:00 p.m. 6:00 p.m.
Sat May 30 Shavuot Family Programming (SFP) includes Youth Torah Readings and Kiddush Lunch   9:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m.

Please note, every effort is made to keep these dates, however, they are subject to change should a conflict arise. Events originally published on July 2, 2019.  

Tue, October 15 2019 16 Tishrei 5780