Sign In Forgot Password

SJS Calendar

Am Yisrael School of Jewish Studies (SJS)
Parent Involvement Calendar of Events, Days Off & Holidays/Commemorations

Revised 1-12-18

January 2018 through June 2018 (5778)

January, 2018

Wed, Jan 10 SJS Resumes

Sat, Jan 13 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) 9:30am (Kiddush lunch to follow)

Sun, Jan 14 SJS Resumes

Wed, Jan 17 No SJS Classes – Parent Teacher Conferences (Bet through Zayin Classes)

Fri, Jan 19 Friday Night Live (FNL), 6:00pm

Sat, Jan 20 AlephBet (1st/2ndHavdalah in Sanctuary 5:30pm – 6:15pm

Sun, Jan 21 Vav (6th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50am -11:25am

Fri, Jan 26 Dalet (4th) & Heh (5th) Classes lead portion of services, 6:00pm

Sun, Jan 28 Chugim (Electives) Open House 10:45 am & All School Assembly 11:15am-12:15pm CANCELLED

Sun, Jan 28 Summer in January Women's League of Am Yisrael (WLAY) Program 12:30 p.m.-3:00 p.m. FOLLOWS REGULAR SESSION OF SJS

Wed, Jan 31 Tu B'Shevat

 

February, 2018

Fri, Feb 2 Gimel (3rd) helps lead services, combined with Siddur Ceremony 6:00pm

Sun, Feb 4 AlephBet  Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50am – 11:25am

Fri, Feb 9 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) 6:00pm (Lite Oneg to follow)

Sun, Feb 11 Sofer on Site Educational Programming and Torah Letter Writing Opportunity in our new scroll, Details TBA

Sun, Feb 11 Heh (5th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50am – 11:25am

Sun, Feb 18 No SJS Classes– President’s Weekend

Sun, Feb 25 Pardes (9th & 10th) Student Brunch & Learn with Rabbi Newman Kamin 10:30am – 11:25am

Wed, Feb 28 Purim Megillah Reading and Festivities, Time TBD

 

March, 2018

Sun, Mar 4 Vav (6th) Brunch & Moving Traditions Family Education Program 9:50am -11:25am

Sat, Mar 10 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) 9:30am (Kiddush lunch to follow)

Sun, Mar 18 Dalet (4th) Leads minyan followed by Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:15am – 11:25am

Sun, Mar 18 Zayin (7th) B’nai Mitzvah Projects Presentation 11:30am – 12:15pm

Sun, Mar 25 No SJS Classes –Spring Break and Pesach through Sunday, Apr 1

Fri, Mar 30 First Passover Seder

Sat, Mar 31 Second Passover Seder

 

April, 2018

Wed, Apr 4 SJS Resumes: SJS in session during Chol HaMoed Pesach

Sat, Apr 7 Intergenerational Torah Reading 9:30am (Kiddush lunch to follow)

Thu, Apr 12 Yom HaShoah

Fri, Apr 13 Friday Night Live (FNL), 6:00pm

Sun, Apr 15 Yom HaShoah Commemoration for 6th-12th Grades 10:30am – 11:25am. Parents of all SJS students are encouraged to attend.

Wed, Apr 18 Yom HaZikaron

Thu, Apr 19 Yom Ha'atzmaut

Fri, Apr 20 Gan (3-6 yr), Aleph (1st) & Bet (2nd) lead portion of service 6:00pm

Fri, Apr 27 Dalet (4th) and Heh (5th) help lead services, 6:00pm

Sun, Apr 29 Sofer on Site Educational Programming and Torah Letter Writing Opportunity in our new scroll, Details TBA

 

May, 2018

Sun, May 6 Chugim (Electives) Open House 10:45am & Pardes (9th & 10th) Reflection Speeches & All School Assembly 11:15am-12:15 p.m.

Sun, May 6 Israel Solidarity Day @ Ravinia following SJS; Details TBA

Fri, May 11 High School SJS Madrichim Completing 12th Grade Honored 6:00pm

Wed, May 16 Musical Drama Chug Production in Sanctuary 5:45pm – 6:15pm

Wed, May 16 Last day of Wednesday Classes for SJS

Sun, May 20 Last day of Sunday Classes for SJS; SJS begins at regular time in Sanctuary, Shavuot Student Torah Readings

 

June, 2018

Fri, June 1 Friday Night Live (FNL), 6:00pm

 

 

Please note, every effort is made to keep these dates, however, they are subject to change should a conflict arise. Events on this calendar that have been added or modified since the orignal SJS calendar was published in Summer 2017 are in orange font.  Please refer to Am Yisrael SJS Calendar on website for any updates: https://www.amyisrael.org/sjs-calendar.html

Thu, January 18 2018 2 Shevat 5778