Sign In Forgot Password

SJS Calendar

Am Yisrael School of Jewish Studies (SJS)
Parent Involvement Calendar of Events, Days Off & Holidays/Commemorations

Revised 8-25-17

August 2017 through May 2018 (5778)

Please click here for printable PDF of SJS Calendar

 

August & September, 2017

Fri, Aug 25 Shabbat Under the Stars, Gillson Park in Wilmette 6:00 pm

Wed, Sep 6 First day of Wednesday Classes for SJS

Sun, Sep 10 First day of Sunday Classes for SJS  includes early dismissal TBD for those attending White Sox game in which Cantor Simon sings National Anthem

Wed, Sep 20 No SJS Classes – Erev Rosh Hashanah

Thu, Sep 21 First Day of Rosh Hashanah

Fri, Sep 22 Second Day of Rosh Hashanah

Fri, Sep 29 Kol Nidre

Sat, Sep 30 Yom Kippur

 

October, 2017

Sun, Oct 1 No SJS Classes – Day after Yom Kippur

Wed, Oct 4 SJS @ 4:15 p.m.; including Erev Sukkot services from 5:30 p.m.-6:00 p.m. followed by a snack in the sukkah

Sun, Oct 8 Camp Am Yisrael (0-3 yr) & Gan (3-6 yr) visit to Rabbi Newman Kamin’s Sukkah, 11am–12 pm

Wed, Oct 11 SJS @ 4:15 p.m.; followed by “Pizza in the Hut” @ 6:15 p.m. and Simchat Torah dancing @ 6:45 p.m. 

Sun, Oct 15 Sofer on Site Educational Programming and Torah Letter Writing Opportunity in our new scroll, Details TBA

Fri, Oct 27, Sat, Oct 28, Sun, Oct 29 Family Retreat at Daniel M. Soref Education and Retreat Center in Fredonia, WI

 

November, 2017

Sat, Nov 4 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) 9:30am (Kiddush lunch to follow)

Sun, Nov 5 Prozdor (8th) Student Brunch & Learn with Rabbi Newman Kamin 10:30am-11:25am

Sun, Nov 5 Zayin (7th) going to the ARK to sort food

Sun, Nov 12 Zayin (7th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50 am-11:25 am

Wed, Nov 22 No SJS Classes – Thanksgiving Break

Sun, Nov 26 No SJS Classes – Thanksgiving Break

Wed, Nov 29 SJS Resumes

 

December, 2017

Sun, Dec 3 Gimel (3rd) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50am – 11:25am

Wed, Dec 6 Sofer on Site Educational Programming and Torah Letter Writing Opportunity in our new scroll, Details TBA

Sun, Dec 10 Aleph (1st) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50am -11:25am

Tue, Dec 12 First Night of Chanukah Candlelighting

Fri, Dec 15 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) & Chanukah 6:00pm (Light oneg to follow)

Sun, Dec 24 No SJS Classes – Winter Break through Sun, Jan 7

 

January, 2018

Wed, Jan 10 SJS Resumes

Sat, Jan 13 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) 9:30am (Kiddush lunch to follow)

Wed, Jan 17 No SJS Classes – Parent Teacher Conferences (Bet through Zayin Classes)

Sat, Jan 20 Bet (2nd) Havdalah in Sanctuary 5:30pm – 6:15pm

Sun, Jan 21 Pardes (9th & 10th) Student Brunch & Learn with Rabbi Newman Kamin 10:30am – 11:25am

Fri, Jan 26 Dalet (4th) & Heh (5th) Classes lead portion of services as part of FNL 6:00pm

Sun, Jan 28 Chugim (Electives) Open House 10:45 am & All School Assembly 11:15am-12:15pm

Wed, Jan 31 Tu B'Shevat

 

February, 2018

Fri, Feb 2 Gimel (3rd) helps lead services, combined with Siddur Ceremony 6:00pm

Sun, Feb 4 Bet Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50am – 11:25am

Fri, Feb 9 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) 6:00pm (Lite Oneg to follow)

Sun, Feb 11 Sofer on Site Educational Programming and Torah Letter Writing Opportunity in our new scroll, Details TBA

Sun, Feb 11 Heh (5th) Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:50am – 11:25am

Sun, Feb 18 No SJS Classes– President’s Weekend

Wed, Feb 28 Purim Megillah Reading and Festivities, Time TBD

 

March, 2018

Sat, Mar 10 SFP (Shabbat Family Programming) 9:30am (Kiddush lunch to follow)

Sun, Mar 18 Dalet (4th) Leads minyan followed by Brunch & Family Ed with Rabbi Newman Kamin 9:15am – 11:25am

Sun, Mar 18 Zayin (7th) B’nai Mitzvah Projects Presentation 11:30am – 12:15pm

Sun, Mar 25 No SJS Classes –Spring Break and Pesach through Sunday, Apr 1

Fri, Mar 30 First Passover Seder

Sat, Mar 31 Second Passover Seder

 

April, 2018

Wed, Apr 4 SJS Resumes: SJS in session during Chol HaMoed Pesach

Sat, Apr 7 Intergenerational Torah Reading 9:30am (Kiddush lunch to follow)

Thu, Apr 12 Yom HaShoah

Fri, Apr 13 Gan (3-6 yr), Aleph (1st) & Bet (2nd) lead portion of service 6:00pm

Sun, Apr 15 Yom HaShoah Commemoration for 6th-12th Grades 10:30am – 11:25am. Parents of all SJS students are encouraged to attend.

Wed, Apr 18 Yom HaZikaron

Thu, Apr 19 Yom Ha'atzmaut

Fri, Apr 27 Dalet (4th) and Heh (5th) help lead services as part of Friday Night Live (FNL) 6:00pm

 

May, 2018

Sun, May 6 Chugim (Electives) Open House 10:45am & Pardes (9th & 10th) Reflection Speeches & All School Assembly 11:15am-12:15 p.m.

Sun, May 6 Israel Solidarity Day @ Ravinia following SJS; Details TBA

Fri, May 11 High School SJS Madrichim Completing 12th Grade Honored 6:00pm

Wed, May 16 Musical Drama Chug Production in Sanctuary 5:45pm – 6:15pm

Wed, May 16 Last day of Wednesday Classes for SJS

Sun, May 20 Last day of Sunday Classes for SJS; SJS begins at regular time in Sanctuary, Shavuot Student Torah Readings

 

 

Please note, every effort is made to keep these dates, however, they are subject to change should a conflict arise. Please refer to Am Yisrael SJS Calendar on website for any updates: https://www.amyisrael.org/sjs-calendar.html

Mon, October 23 2017 3 Cheshvan 5778